Wednesday, September 9, 2009

The Beatles: Rock Band - Opening Cinematic (HD)

Today many things happened. Sonic has a new game slated for 2010 and it once again "might" be good. It is the 10th anniversary of the launch of the Dreamcast and when I bought the $200 system full of joy with my one game, Sonic Adventure. It is also a good day to get married apparently. A huge thing happened today though, The Beatles: Rock Band came out.

Monday, August 24, 2009

Shadow Complex...DAMN

Best game of the year? Probably not when up against CoD:MW2 and Uncharted 2. But I have never been so impressed at a game's level design EVER. I am also having an extreme amount of fun playing this game and can't wait to go back and beat it. For just $15 I would recommend this game to ANYBODY who has an Xbox 360 as this is such a great price for what you're getting.

Friday, August 21, 2009

GC 2009: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow Trailer

Yay! I hope it doesn't suck! I'm pretty hopeful!

Thursday, August 20, 2009

Blue Submarine No. 6...it wasn't too late.

Watched it yesterday. I wasn't sure what to expect out of Blue Sub No. 6. Honestly I had not idea. I remember it came out on Toonami and it was a huge deal. They showed an episode a day all week for that one week only. Commercials ablaze. I was 11 though and I just wanted Dragonball lol. So basically I didn't watch it. I regretted it so I picked it up for a few bucks and man I can understand why it was so acclaimed. First off, the fact that the anime was made in 1998 and has the computer graphics that it has stunned me. Even now after 11 years the visuals amazed me and are still better than other crappy 3D incorporated shows such as..Duel Masters...or MAR. Besides that I'm happy with how the OVA progressed and even though it was based off of a manga, the studio did an excellent job with pacing and trying their best to explain the story through quick flashbacks and implications rather than insulting the viewer by explaining every detail. I was happy with the anime overall and would probably show it to anyone who's willing to watch it. Go watch it though. Made the same year as Cowboy Bebop.

Sword Of the Stranger...holy balls.

So I watched Sword of the Stranger two days ago and I was really taken back by everything. The animation being wonderful should be a given since it was a theatrical release, but it should still be noted. What I really liked about this movie was that it dealt with a reasonable problem (the exception being the medicine plot device) and reasonable characters who are all pretty sane. I was getting a little tired of anime theatrical releases that get all their hype from being "different" (Paprika, Sky Crawlers) or "a masterpiece for all ages" (every Miyazaki film except for Lupin III). I think what made it really stand out for me was the way the story unfolded for these characters and the fact that they're all treated with the same humanity in the film. If you hate buying movies, I believe you can youtube it. Have fun! Best movie of the year for me so far!

Link to site.
http://otakuxgamer.blogspot.com/

Monday, August 17, 2009

Sumomomo Momomo! I gave it a try! ^^

Okay so I REALLY liked the manga version of this so I really wanted to watch it. The show is fine and hopefully it gets better in later episodes when it adapts manga chapters that actually form arcs.

Problem with most shows that try to adapt manga to anime is that most early chapters of manga are quick 17 pages and tell a quick story; perhaps introducing a character or showing you the lives of the characters. These work fine in manga, but when shows decide "one story=one episode" this doesn't really work when trying to expand a 17 page story to 22 minutes. Just a lot of boring empty storytelling. That's why I like it when adaptations try to do their own thing (Fullmetal Alchemist, Trigun, Blue Sub No.6) or aren't adaptations at all and specifically design the episodes to contain a story with good pacing (Code Geass, Evangelion, Cowboy Bebop, FLCL, Samurai 7, Samurai Champloo).

Interestingly enough a lot of light novels (Shakugan no Shana, Haruhi Suzumiya) and eroges (Fate/Stay Night, Air, School Days) don't suffer from this since directors don't necessarily have short "chapters" that become episodes. Then there are 4-panel manga which seems to adapt just fine into anime (School Rumble, Shin-Chan, Lucky Star) because episodes are usually crammed with multiple stories at a rapid pacing. I guess it depends on what you like.

Monday, August 10, 2009

I beat Megaman 2 last night for the heck of it!

Last night my friend Josh came over around 10:30 and he was in quite a Megaman mood. So I hooked up the Wii and we started playing Megaman 2. I let him beat the 8 bosses, but he had some trouble with Wily stage 1 so I stepped in and eventually we beat it! My first time actually beating the game so it made me happy!